My first NaNoWriMo region meeting

When I walked into Mulligan’s Pub and Grill and went upstairs to meet other NaNoWriMo participants in my region, I thought,”Oh, crap, I’m the oldest one here.”

I sat down at one of the few seats available at the long tables that had been pushed together. Looking to my left, I saw six teenage girls sitting there. I was sure they were thinking, “Man, who’s the old guy?” They were, however, much more charitable than I, because they smiled and talked with me, sharing their story ideas with enthusiasm. I later found out that only half of them were teenagers; the other half of them were twenty-somethings who looked young for their age.

On my right sat Andrea with whom I worked with several years ago at the college I teach at in the evenings. We are Facebook friends, but really never really communicate via social networking. It was great to reconnect with her.

Coincidentally, the regional liaison for NaNoWriMo in the Louisville area where I live is a woman named Jessica who works on my floor at my day job. She and the other regional liaison did great job with the meeting.

Another person at the meeting was Allison, a published author. About four years ago, she was my server at Red Lobster. We talked about writing for a few minutes and she encouraged me to “friend” her on Facebook, so I did. Apparently she quit her job at Red Lobster and pursued her masters. She has also had two books published since then. Allison and I have actually had several conversations over the years–via instant messaging on Facebook–about topics like Aspergers and such. She even initiated some of the conversations. Still, I had a feeling that she didn’t really know who in the milky way I was, so i reintroduced myself to her at the meeting.  She wrote about it on her Facebook status:

“Ok how wild is this. So four years and a half years ago when I came to Kentucky I worked as a waitress at Red Lobster while writing Calico. I left when we moved to Bedford and my book was published. Fast forward to now, I meet this guy on Facebook who is part of the NaNoWriMo group in Louisville. We become friends and he asked me today if I was going to be at the party. I said yes. So while I’m there he comes up and introduces himself to me. He tells me I was his waitress at Red Lobster and he was glad we reconnected! Wild that he remembered me, huh?”

So she thinks we became Facebook friends through the Louisville NaNoWriMo page, but actually became Facebook friends independent of that. Not that it matters; sounds like she is incredibly busy.

Many of the other people in attendance were the Bohemian types that can be found in the Highlands of Louisville. Jessica asked everyone in the room to tell what they were going to write about. Lots of Science Fiction. Lots of historical fiction. Some fan fiction. I even met a few people. One woman is a full time student with a daughter.

So my first NaNoWriMo meeting had a lot of interesting people in attendance. I wish them all good luck.

Author: mazeface

Two things I love to do the most include graphic design and writing. I was an editor at a publishing company for several years; I saw the graphic designers at work and thought, 'I'd like to do that.' So I went to art school. I love to read, write and draw. Yes, I am a creative nerd type. I like to read all kinds of books, but science fiction and fantasy is my guilty pleasure. Why am I keeping this blog? It's just a place to keep my thoughts. My brain is getting too full to store them all, so this place is a good annex.

Leave a Reply

